J. Pat Cummings Scholarship


This award is bestowed annually to a second or third year optometry student at each of the North American Schools and colleges of optometry. One who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities. 

Award and Eligibility

Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision Care, Inc., one $1,000 award and a personalized plaque is awarded to one second or third year student attending each school or college of optometry in the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico.

The student must be a member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO). To learn more and become a member visit: www.aaopt.org/student

Nomination Procedures

The J. Pat Cummings Nomination Form and a copy of the appropriate IRS tax form are provided directly to institution contacts via email prior to the opening of the submission window, 2 months prior to the deadline.

The appropriate award selection committee at each of the schools/colleges of optometry will select the one student who meets the eligibility requirements and best demonstrates the qualities detailed in the above criteria.  The AOF will not accept applications directly submitted by a student.  Interested students should relay their desire for consideration to the award chair or financial aid representative at their institution.

Completed forms should be sent via email to: AOF@aaoptom.org with the subject line: "Cummings Scholarship-Institution name".

Submission and Deadline

Deadline for nomination submission by the institution is September 1, 2016

Notification and Conferment

Each college or university will contact its award winner. The AOF will send the award directly to the school or college to be applied toward the student's financial aid. 

A W-9 form (within the U.S.) or W-8BEN form (non-U.S. resident) must be submitted or be confirmed on file prior to award processing.

Awards are shipped 4 - 6 weeks post deadline. If able, the award presentation may be made by a sponsor representative assigned to each school or college of optometry or if feasible, by an AOF representative.

Program Notes

Please note : Guidelines for any given program are subject to change by the AOF and/or the award sponsor. Applicants are reminded to please review all information before submitting their materials to ensure it meets all criteria.

All award recipients by application/nomination and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These will appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, annual meeting promotional materials or press release.

Please direct questions about this program to: Jennifer Rubin, Foundation Coordinator, at: AOF@aaoptom.org or 321-319-4872.

2015 J. Pat Cummings Scholarships

The J. Pat Cummings program is designed to recognize outstanding second or third-year clinicians who best exemplify and enhance patient loyalty through establishing the important link between eye health and overall health. The program recognizes how important Eye Care Professionals are in educating patients in several areas, including: diagnosing and treating vision disorders, ensuring patient satisfaction with vision correction choices and encouraging patients to schedule regular eye exams.

The 2015 Recipients:

  • Casey Wilgenbusch-Illinois College of Optometry

  • Sarah Salim-Indiana University School of Optometry

  • Bonnie Wessler-Inter-American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

  • Muhammed Umair Khan-Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry

  • Felicia A. Slate-Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University

  • Christine A. Shukis-Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

  • Chantelle Davis-New England College of Optometry

  • Cale Fulps-Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

  • Kelsey J. Moore-Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

  • Danielle Mayne-The Ohio State University College of Optometry

  • Kelsey N. Elrod-Pacific University College of Optometry

  • Courtney Grace Goode-Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

  • Anne Bui-Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

  • Erick Henderson-Southern College of Optometry

  • Karen Levy-State University of New York College of Optometry

  • Benjamin C. Konig-University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

  • Salomi Rajadhyksha-University of California, Berkeley School of Optometry

  • Mona Moshtaghi-University of Houston College of Optometry

  • Yousef J. Ibrahim-University of Missouri -St. Louis College of Optometry

  • Solange Lacroix-École d'optométrie, Université de Montréal

  • Logan Granera-University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

  • Michael Kreuzer-University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science

  • Johnson Co-Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

The American Optometric Foundation is a philanthropic organization devoted to the advancement of optometric education and research, administering over $300,000 per year in scholarships, fellowships, and research grants. The AOF is an affiliate of the American Academy of Optometry.