Antoinette M. Molinari Scholarship

Antoinette M. Molinari**This scholarship will not be offered in 2017.**


The Antoinette M. Molinari Scholarship was established to assist an exceptional student who has extraordinary financial needs and, as such, would have difficulty meeting the financial requirements of attending optometry school. Financial need is a major criteria for selection, but academic and leadership potential are also important considerations.


One scholarship of $7,000 (Note: increase for 2015!)will be awarded for the academic year. The award is made to the institution, who credits the scholarship to the student. The scholarship rotates among the North American schools and colleges of optometry. To see if your school is eligible for this year,  review the list below.


Eligible applicants must be pursuing a Doctorate of Optometry degree through a full-time course of study and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 (4 point scale) or higher for all course work taken thus far in optometry school. Students must currently hold a first to third year student status during the open application period and be a student member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO). To learn more and become a member visit:

This scholarship is not open to residents, post-doctoral applicants or pre-Optometry students.
Application and Review Procedures

The AOF informs the institutions designated for the current year's program that it may seek candidates. The application form may be downloaded and shared with potential candidates. Students are asked to complete the application, contact the appropriate individuals for references, authorize the release of an official transcript and write a one page statement describing their education and career objectives.

The attending institution is responsible for reviewing the application for content, providing supportive authorization and transmitting the materials to the Foundation by the deadline.

The Molinari Family, in collaboration with a designated review committee, will select the scholarship recipient based on financial need, academic and leadership potential.

Program Notes:

An email confirming receipt of your electronic application submission is given within 1-3 business days. If you do not receive an email, please make query to: prior to the submission deadline, thank you.

Prior to window open, guidelines for any given program are subject to change by the AOF and/or the award sponsor. Applicants are reminded to please review all information before submitting their application to ensure it meets all criteria.

All award recipients by application and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These will appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, annual meeting promotional materials.

Rotation Schedule: 

2015  2016  **Not offered in 2016**
Indiana University School of Optometry Illinois College of Optometry
Inter-American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry
Michigan College of Optometry New England College of Optometry
Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry  Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry
Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University  Pacific University College of Optometry
Southern College of Optometry  Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University
Ohio State University College of Optometry   SUNY College of Optometry
University of Alabama-Birmingham School of Optometry  University of California, Berkeley, School of Optometry
Univ. of the Incarnate Word, Rosenberg School of Optometry  University of Houston College of Optometry
Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry  University of Missouri -St. Louis College of Optometry


Past Recipients of the Molinari Award

2001: Jennifer (Tarpley) Martin - University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Optometry

2002: Jennifer (Roehm) Simonson - The Ohio State University, College of Optometry

2003: Felicia (Taylor) Popowski - Pacific University College of Optometry

2004: Jennifer Lynn Stewart - New England College of Optometry

2005: Guadalupe Mejia - Indiana University, School of Optometry

2006: Candice Robinson - New England College of Optometry

2007: Meredith Jansen - Indiana University, School of Optometry

2008: Marc Kenneth Lay - SUNY College of Optometry

2009: Erin Hocking - Southern College of Optometry

2010: Betty Wang -University of California - Berkeley, School of Optometry

2011: Ellen Owen Elmore - Southern College of Optometry

2012: Kasie Jean Rust - Pacific University College of Optometry


2013: Charlene Singh - Western University of Health Sciences, College of Optometry

2014:  Rebecca Moran - New England College of Optometry

2014 Antoinette M. Molinari Scholarship Recipient Announced

Moran Selected as 2014 Molinari Scholarship Recipient – Rebecca Moran, third year student at New England College of Optometry, has been selected by a review committee of the American Optometric Foundation (AOF) as the 2014 Antoinette M. Molinari Memorial Scholarship winner. This scholarship was established as a means to assist an exceptional student with financial need who also demonstrates academic distinction and strong leadership qualities. Rebecca is a member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), the Volunteer Optometric Services to Humanity (VOSH) and member of the Beta Sigma Kappa (BSK) Optometric Honor Society. Her almost perfect academic record, leadership potential, strong motivation toward self-improvement, plus organized practice goals, all collectively made Rebecca the leading choice for the $6,000 scholarship.