Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics

Rachel Knowlton receives the 2015 Julius F. Neumueller Award from AOF President David Kirschen.

The Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics is awarded to a nominee who submits a first-authored original research paper (research conducted while a student pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree in a school or college of optometry) on one of the following topics: Geometrical Optics; Physical Optics; Ophthalmic Optics; Optics of the Eye. Acceptable topics include modern measurement of aberrations and their correction, optical quality of the eye, optical limits to visual performance, or diagnosis and treatment of a range of optically relevant ocular conditions (e.g. corneal surgery, contact lenses, and refractive error). The paper should be of publishable quality if currently unpublished, but may be already published or under review. The paper must reflect research performed while the student was pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations should be made by the student’s advisor. Nominations should include the first-authored student paper and a letter of recommendation from the advisor describing the student’s role in conducting the research and the writing of the manuscript. There is no limit on the number of nominations from each school or college of optometry. It is expected that the recipient will submit any unpublished manuscript to Optometry and Vision Science. The award is $750 for the primary author to travel to attend the annual meeting. If other authors than the first author were also pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree while conducting the research, multiple awardees may divide a total travel award of $1,500.

Opens February 1, 2017
Closes April 1, 2017

Nominations should be emailed to Helen Viksnins at HelenV@aaoptom.org
or mailed to:

The Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
c/o American Academy of Optometry
2909 Fairgreen Street Orlando, FL 32803

Past Recipients of the Neumueller Award

2016 Kelly E. Moore

2015 Rachel Knowlton

2014 Not Awarded

2013 Krystal L. Schulle

2012 Kenneth Headington

2011 Not Awarded

2010 Not Awarded

2009 Not Awarded

2008 Bret Lehman

2007 Not Awarded

2006 Nina Tran

         Sara Chiu

2005 Douglas F. Lee

2004 Mark Kahrhoff

2003 Joy Martin

2002 Brady Rembleski

         Tania Gardiner

2001 Gregory Patek

         Rahul Keswani

2000 Joseph Rappon

1999 Rick Wong 

         Brian Chou

1998 Marie-Pierre Paquin   

1997 Mark P. Borsuk 

         Cary Tseng 

1996 George A. Zikos

1995 Blake Bullock

1994 Nicolas Fontaine

1993 Anhlinh Nguyen

1992 Randall L. Phillips

1991 Alex Kim 

         Sherry Pham

1990 Gregg E. Russell

1989 M. Anne Wilson

1987 Frank E. Miller 

         Bradley G. Smith 

         Ray J. Weekly 

1986 Susan M. Brunnett 

         Mitchell T. Munson

1985 Donald Ferro 

         Rene F. Strumwasser 

1983 Randall A. Faunce

1982 David C. Moline

1981 Marcie E. Arnesty 

         Patsy L. Harvey

1978 Lary M. DeDonato 

         Thomas C. Sather

1977 Steven A. Wood

1976 David N. Schultz

1975 Bob G. Gilman

1974 Paul J. Wilson

1973 Donald Wright

1972 Kerry A. Horner

1971 David Fox 

         Peter M. Smith