Information for the Press

Founded: 1922

2014 and 2015 Board of Directors (formerly referred to as the Executive Council)

President: Brett G. Bence, OD, FAAO
President-Elect: Joseph P. Shovlin, OD, FAAO
Secretary-Treasurer: Barbara Caffery, OD, PhD, FAAO
Immediate Past President: Bernard J. Dolan, OD, MS, FAAO
Member: Susan A. Cotter, OD, MS, FAAO
Member: Pete S. Kollbaum, OD, PhD, FAAO
Member: Timothy T. McMahon, OD
Member: Jeffrey J. Walline, OD, PhD, FAAO
Executive Director: Lois Schoenbrun, CAE

Fellows and Fellow Emeritus who Reside in the United States: 4473
(About 10 percent of practicing optometrists in the United States.)

Candidates: 1000
Student Members: 4120
International Fellows: 516
Countries with Fellows: 42

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Guam
Guyana, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States of America

Sections: 8
Anterior Segment; Binocular Vision, Perception and Pediatric Optometry; Comprehensive Eye Care; Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies; Glaucoma; Low Vision; Optometric Education; Public Health and Environmental Optometry; and Vision Science

Special Interest Groups: 6
Academic Medical Center Optometrists; Fellows Doing Research; Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders in Optometry; Nutrition, Disease Prevention, and Wellness; Retina; Vision in Aging

Chapters: 30

Geographic: 20
European (Continental) Great Britain Quebec (Canada) South Africa United States: California, Florida, Hawaii, Heart of America, Illinois, Indiana, New England, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Northeastern Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Virginia

Student: 20
Illinois College of Optometry; Indiana University School of Optometry; University of Montreal; Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State; Midwestern University, Arizona College of Optometry; New England College of Optometry; Northeastern State University College of Optometry; Nova Southeastern College of Optometry; Ohio State University College of Optometry; Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Pacific University College of Optometry; Rosenberg School of Optometry; Southern California College of Optometry; SUNY College of Optometry; University of Alabama School of Optometry; University of California, Berkeley, College of Optometry; University of Houston College of Optometry; University of Missouri – St. Louis, College of Optometry; University of Waterloo; Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

Upcoming Annual Meetings:

November 9-12, 2016 in Anaheim, CA

Need Additional Information?

Contact Jenny Brown at to request more information.