Academy 2012 Phoenix Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2012 award winners! Download the full press release here (PDF). Winners will be recognized at the Award Ceremony on Friday, October 26 from 8 to 10 a.m. in North Ballroom A of the Phoenix Convention Center. 

Charles F. Prentice Lecture
Larry N. Thibos, PhD, FAAO
Wavefront Measurement of Refractive State

Glenn A. Fry Invited Lecture
Susana T.L. Chung, OD, PhD, FAAO
Plasticity of the Visual System Following Central Vision Loss

Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award
Melissa D. Bailey, OD, PhD, FAAO

AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Optometry
Olanrewaju M. Oriowo, MSc, PhD, FAAO

William Feinbloom Award
P. Sarita Soni, OD, MS, FAAO

Carl C. Koch Memorial Award
Roger J. Wilson, OD, FAAO

Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
Kenneth Headington, OD, MS

Eminent Service Award
Richard E. Weisbarth, OD, FAAO
Joe Yager, OD, FAAO

Life Fellow Award
John F. Amos, OD, MS, FAAO

Honorary Fellow Award
Susan I. Eger
James F. Jorkasky

Garland W. Clay Award
Fiona Stapleton, MCOptom, PhD, FAAO
Lisa Keay, BOptom, PhD
Isabelle Jalbert, OD, PhD, FAAO
Nerda Cole, MSc, PhD

Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
Dennis L. Smith, OD, MS, FAAO

Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies Awards

Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award
Fiona Stapleton, MCOptom, PhD, FAAO

Founder’s Award
Lester E. Janoff, OD, MSED, FAAO (posthumously)