Volunteer Directory

Board of Directors

President
Dr. Joseph P. Shovlin
Ph: 570-587-5186
Email: jpshovlin@gmail.com

President-Elect
Dr. Barbara Caffery
Ph: 416-921-2375
Email: dr.b.caffery@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon
Ph: 312-996-5410
Email: timomcma@uic.edu

Immediate Past President
Dr. Brett G. Bence
Ph: 360-428-2020
Email: bbence@nweyes.com

Board Member
Dr. Susan A. Cotter
Ph: 714-449-7488
Email: scotter@ketchum.edu

Board Member
Dr. Pete Kollbaum
Ph: 812-856-0108
Email: kollbaum@indiana.edu

Board Member
Dr. Carl H. Spear
Ph: 850-939-6962
Email: chspear@gmail.com

Board Member
Dr. Jeffrey J. Walline
Ph: 614-247-6840
Email: walline.1@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Lois Schoenbrun
Ph: 321-319-4856
Fax: 407-893-9890
Email: loiss@aaoptom.edu

AAO Committee Chairs, Staff and Board Liaison

Admittance Committee
National Chair
Dr. Megan Hunter
Ph: 312-569-7509
Email: megan.hunter@va.gov

Vice Chair
Dr. Nancy Wong
Ph: 914-737-4400
Email: nancy.wong@va.gov

Board Liaison
Dr. Barbara Caffery

Staff Liaison
Dana Edwards

AOF Board
President
Dr. David Kirschen
Ph: 714-529-2470
Email: davidkirschen@mac.com

Staff Liaison
Maureen Dimont
Ph: 321-319-4871

Board Liaison
Dr. Pete Kollbaum

Awards Committee
Chair
Dr. Donald Mutti
Ph: 614-247-7057
Email: mutti.2@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Joseph P. Shovlin

Chapters Committee
Chair
Dr. Gregory S. Wolfe
Ph: 773-339-1671
Email: gwolfe@sco.edu

Board Liaison
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon

Communications Committee
Chair
Dr. Glenda B. Secor
Ph: 714-596-5606
Email: gbsod@aol.com

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Carl H. Spear

Editorial Board (OVS)
Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Michael Twa
Ph: 205-934-6724
Email: mtwa@uab.edu

Board Liaison
Dr. Brett G. Bence

 

Ethics Committee
Chair
Dr. Bernie Dolan
Ph: 415-221-4810
Email: bernard.dolan@va.gov

Staff Liaison
Lois Schoenbrun

Board Liaison
Dr. Joseph P. Shovlin

Exhibits Committee
Chair
Dr. Lisa Badowski
Ph: 303-344-1272
Email: lbadowski@yahoo.com

Staff Liaison
Betty Taylor

Board Liaison
Dr. Sue Cotter

Faculty-Student Liaison Committee
Chair
Dr. Lindsay Sicks
Ph: 708-826-6401
Email: lsicks@ico.edu

Staff Liaison
Jenny Brown

Board Liaison
Dr. Carl H. Spear

Finance Committee
Chair
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon
Ph: 312-996-5410
Email: timomcma@uic.edu

Staff Liaison
Richard Jones

Lectures and Workshops Committee
Chair
Dr. Neil Pence
Ph: 812-855-2902
Email: pence@indiana.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Jeffrey J. Walline

Maintenance of Fellowship
Chair
Dr. Lewis N. Reich
Ph: 901-722-3234
Email: lreich@sco.edu

Staff Liaison
Dana Edwards

Board Liaison
Dr. Carl H. Spear

Membership Committee
Chair
Dr. Andrew D. Pucker
Ph: 920-579-2900
Email: apucker@uab.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Jeffrey J. Walline

Merton C. Flom Leadership InSight© Committee
Chair
Dr. Muriel Schornack
Ph: 507-284-3721
Email: dschornack.muriel@mayo.edu

Staff Liaison
Betty Rodriguez

Board Liaison
Dr. Barbara Caffery

Nominating Committee
Chair
Dr. Elizabeth D. Muckley
Ph: 330-678-0201
Email: dredm1@aol.com

Staff Liaison
Sarah Kidd

Board Liaison
Dr. Brett G. Bence

Research Committee
Chair
Dr. Karla Zadnik
Ph: 614-292-6603
Email: zadnik.4@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Sue Cotter

Resident's Day Program
Chair
Dr. Amy L. Grimes
Ph: 520-792-1450
Email: amy.grimes@va.gov

Staff Liaison
Betty Rodriguez

Board Liaison
Dr. Barbara Caffery

Scientific Program Committee
Chair
Dr. Suresh Viswanathan
Ph: 212-938-5592
Email: sviswanathan@sunyopt.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins

Board Liaison
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon

 

Academy Sections

Anterior Segment
Section Chair
Dr. Jeffrey R. Varanelli
Ph: 586-558-2981
Email: JRVOD@comcast.net

Binocular Vision, Perception & Pediatric Optometry
Section Chair
Dr. John D. Tassinari
Ph: 626-796-3105
Email: jtod@sbcglobal.net

Comprehensive Eye Care
Section Chair
Dr. Ernie Bowling
Ph: 856-667-8577
Email: erniebowling@icloud.com

Cornea, Contact Lenses, and Refractive Technology
Section Chair
Dr. Clarke D. Newman
Ph: 214-969-0467
Email: cdnewman@earthlink.net

Glaucoma
Section Chair
Dr. Lauren Risten
Ph: 847-217-2467
Email: laurenristen@gmail.com

Low Vision
Section Chair
Dr. Dawn DeCarlo
Ph: 205-325-8114
Email: ddecarlo@uabmc.edu
 

Optometric Education 
Section Chair
Dr. Michael J. Giese
Ph: 954-258-5400
Email: mgiese1960@gmail.com

Public Health & Environmental Vision
Section Chair
Dr. Debbie L. Hettler
Ph: 202-461-9499
Email: debbie.hettler@va.gov

Academy Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Academic Medical Center Optometrist (AMCO)
Chair
Dr. Ellen Shorter
Ph: 312-996-5410
Email: eperry1@gmail.com

Fellows Doing Research
Chair
Dr. Wendy Harrison
Ph: 623-972-3907
Email: wharri@midwestern.edu

Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders in Optometry
Chair
Dr. Joseph Sowka
Ph: 954-262-1472
Email: jsowka@nova.edu
 

Nutrition, Disease Prevention, and Wellness
Chair
Dr. A. Paul Chous
Ph: 425-736-6251
Email: dr_chous@diabeticeyes.com

Retina SIG
Chair
Dr. Gregory Schultz
Ph: 757-319-0587
Email: gschultz@eyecenterofvirginia.com

Vision in Aging
Chair
Dr. John Kaminski
Ph: 989-636-7580
Email: johnkaminski@yahoo.com

Vision Science
Section Chair
Dr. Russell Woods
Ph: 617-912-2589
Email: Russell_Woods@meei.harvard.edu

Board Liaison to Sections/SIGs
Dr. Pete Kollbaum

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins