Volunteer Directory

Board of Directors

President
Dr. Joseph P. Shovlin
Email: jpshovlin@gmail.com

President-Elect
Dr. Barbara Caffery
Email: dr.b.caffery@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon
Email: timomcma@uic.edu

Immediate Past President
Dr. Brett G. Bence
Email: bbence@nweyes.com

Board Member
Dr. Susan A. Cotter
Email: scotter@ketchum.edu

Board Member
Dr. Pete Kollbaum
Email: kollbaum@indiana.edu

Board Member
Dr. Carl Spear
Email: chspear@gmail.com

Board Member
Dr. Jeffrey J. Walline
Email: walline.1@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Lois Schoenbrun
Email: loiss@aaoptom.org

AAO Committee Chairs, Staff and Board Liaison

Admittance Committee
National Chair
Dr. Megan Hunter
Email: megan.hunter@va.gov

Vice Chair
Dr. Nancy Wong
Email: nancy.wong@va.gov

Staff Liaison
Dana Edwards
Email: danae@aaoptom.org

AOF Board
President
Dr. David Kirschen
Email: davidkirschen@mac.com

Staff Liaison
Maureen Dimont
Email: maureend@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Awards Committee
Chair
Dr. Donald Mutti
Email: mutti.2@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Chapters Committee
Chair
Dr. Gregory Wolfe
Email: gwolfe@sco.edu

Staff Liaison
Jenny Brown
Email: JennyB@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Communications Committee
Chair
Dr. Glenda B. Secor
Email: gbsod@aol.com

Staff Liaison
Jenny Brown
Email: JennyB@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Exhibits Committee
Chair
Dr. Lisa Badowski
Email: lbadowski@yahoo.com

Staff Liaison
Betty Taylor
Email: BettyT@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Membership Committee
Chair
Dr. Andrew Pucker
Email: apucker@uab.edu

Staff Liaison
Jenny Brown
Email: JennyB@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison

Nominating Committee
Chair
Dr. Elizabeth Muckler
Email: dredm1@aol.com

Staff Liaison
Sarah Kidd
Email: SarahK@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison

Research Committee
Chair
Dr. Karla Zadnik
Email: zadnik.4@osu.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison

Scientific Program Committee
Chair
Dr. Suresh Viswanathan
Email: sviswanathan@sunyopt.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison

Ethics Committee
Chair
Dr. Bernie Dolan
Email: bernard.dolan@va.gov

Staff Liaison
Lois Schoenbrun
Email: loiss@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Faculty-Student Liaison Committee
Chair
Dr. Lindsay Sicks
Email: lsicks@ico.edu

Staff Liaison
Jenny Brown
Email: JennyB@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
 

Editorial Board (OVS)
Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Michael Twa
Email: mtwa@uab.edu

Board Liaison
 

Finance Committee
Chair
Dr. Timothy T. McMahon
Email: timomcma@uic.edu

Staff Liaison
Richard Jones
Email: RichardJ@aaoptom.org

Lectures and Workshops Committee
Chair
Dr. Neil Pence
Email: pence@indiana.edu

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
Dr. Joe Shovlin

Maintenance of Fellowship
Chair
Dr. Lewis Reich
Email: lreich@sco.edu

Board Liaison
Dr. Joe Shovlin

Resident's Day Program
Chair
Dr. Amy Grimes
Email: amy.grimes@va.gov

Staff Liaison
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org

Board Liaison
Dr. Tim McMahon

 

Academy Sections

Anterior Segment
Chair
Dr. Christina Wilmer
Email: cwilmer@berkeley.edu

Binocular Vision, Perception & Pediatric Optometry
Section Chair
Dr. Carmen Barnhardt
Email: cbarnhardt@ketchum.edu

Cornea, Contact Lenses, and Refractive Technology
Section Chair
Dr. Loretta Szczotka-Flynn
Email: loretta.szczotka@uhhospitals.org

Glaucoma
Section Chair
Dr. Lisa Young
Email: lmyoung313@yahoo.com

Low Vision
Section Chair
Dr. David Lewerenz
Email: lewerenz@nsuok.edu

Optometric Education
Section Chair
Dr. Meredith M. Whiteside
Email: mwhitesi@berkeley.edu
 

Comprehensive Eye Care
Section Chair
Dr. Mike Radoiu
Email: radoiu@comcast.net
 

Public Health & Environmental Vision
Section Chair
Dr. Kevin Jackson
Email: kmjackson@aol.com

Academy Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Academic Medical Center Optometrist (AMCO)
Chair
Dr. Patti Fries
Email: pfries@unmc.edu

Fellows Doing Research
Chair
Dr. Robin L. Chalmers
Email: chalmers2097@gmail.com

Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders in Optometry
Chair
Dr. Leonard Messner
Email: lmessner@ico.edu
 

Nutrition, Disease Prevention, and Wellness
Chair
Dr. Kim Reed
Email: kimreed@nova.edu

Retina SIG
Chair
Dr. Steven Ferrucci
Email: steven.ferrucci@va.gov

Vision in Aging
Chair
Mark W. Swanson
Email: mswanson@uab.edu

Vision Science
Section Chair
Dr. Lei Liu
Email: liul7788@uab.edu

 

Board Liaison to Sections/SIGs
 

Staff Liaison to Sections/SIGs
Helen Viksnins
Email: HelenV@aaoptom.org