2019 Academy Award Recipients

Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture

Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

Raymond Applegate
Susan Cotter

Raymond A. Applegate, OD, PhD, FAAO

Susan A. Cotter, OD, MS, FAAO

Uduak C. Udom, OD, MPH, FAAO

William Feinbloom

Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics

J Daniel Twelker

Thomas R. Stelmack, OD, FAAO

J. Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO

Rami Aboumourad, OD

Vincent Ellerbrock
Clinician Educator

Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award


Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellent in Optometric Education

Don Mutti

Thomas G. Quinn, OD, MS, FAAO

Andrew D. Pucker, OD, PhD, FAAO

Heather A. Anderson, OD, PhD, FAAO

Donald O. Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO

Garland W. Clay Award

Maria Liu

Thomas A. Aller, OD, FBCLA

Maria Liu, OD, PhD, FAAO

Christine Wildsoet, DipAppSci(Optom), PhD, FAAO

Awards of the
Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Founders' Award

Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision


Philip B. Morgan, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO


S. Barry Eiden, OD, FAAO


Robert N. Kleinstein, OD, PhD, FAAO

Awards Committee

John Flanagan, Chair
Joan Stelmack, Vice Chair
Melissa Bailey
Joseph Bonanno
Isabelle Jalbert
Timothy McMahon
Kathryn Richdale
Earl Smith III
Michael Twa
Suresh Viswanathan

“Our Academy is only as good as the people we honor. In 2019 we are honoring the best; our best teachers, researchers, clinicians, and rising stars of the future,”
John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Awards Committee Chair