Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.
Award winners will be recognized at the Academy 2018 San Antonio Awards Ceremony on Friday, November 9, 8:00-10:00 AM, in Room 217CD of the Henry B. González Convention Center. Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies award recipients will be honored at 4:00 PM on Wednesday, November 7 in Room 214. The Public Health and Environmental Vision Section Henry B. Peters Awardee will be honored on Thursday, November 8 at 5:00 PM in Room 008B.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2018 award recipients:

Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture

Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

Fiona Stapleton (003)NL

Chris A. Johnson, PhD, DSc, FAAO

Fiona J. Stapleton, MCOptom, PhD, FAAO

Paul E. Berman, OD

William Feinbloom

David ElliottNL

David B. Elliott, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO

Brien Holden Humanitarian Award


Akio Kanai, OD

Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award


Kovin S. Naidoo, OD, PhD, FAAO

Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics


Jacob A. Boroff, OD, MS


Angeline Nguyen, OD


Jenna L. Wayne, OD

Vincent Ellerbrock
Clinician Educator


Tammy Than, MS, OD, FAAO

Eminent Service Award



Bernard J. Dolan, OD, MS, FAAO

Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellent in Optometric Education


Patricia K. Hrynchak, OD, FAAO

Garland W. Clay Award

Greg GoodrichNL

Gregory L. Goodrich, PhD, FAAO

Heidi FlygNL

Heidi M. Flyg, OD

Jennine KirbyNL

Jennine E. Kirby, OD

Chea-Yo ChangNL

Chea-Yo Chang, OD, FAAO


Gary L. Martinsen, OD, PhD, FAAO

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Swarbrick August 2018NL

Helen A. Swarbrick, PhD, FAAO

Founders' Award


Jerome A. Legerton, OD, MS, FAAO

Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision


Robert D. Newcomb, OD, MPH, FAAO