Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics


The Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics is awarded to a nominee who submits a first-authored original research paper (research conducted while a student pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree in a school or college of optometry) on one of the following topics: Geometrical Optics; Physical Optics; Ophthalmic Optics; Optics of the Eye. Acceptable topics include modern measurement of aberrations and their correction, optical quality of the eye, optical limits to visual performance, or diagnosis and treatment of a range of optically relevant ocular conditions (e.g. corneal surgery, contact lenses, and refractive error). The paper should be of publishable quality if currently unpublished, but may be already published or under review. The paper must reflect research performed while the student was pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree.

Nomination Procedures

The nomination window opens February 1, 2021 and closes April 1, 2021.

Nominations should be made by the student’s advisor. Nominations should include the first-authored student paper and a letter of recommendation from the advisor describing the student’s role in conducting the research and the writing of the manuscript. There is no limit on the number of nominations from each school or college of optometry. It is expected that the recipient will submit any unpublished manuscript to Optometry and Vision Science. The award is $750 for the primary author to travel to attend the annual meeting. If other authors, other than the first author, were also pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree while conducting the research, multiple awardees may divide a total travel award of $1,500.

**Priority will be given to North American applicants but is not a requirement to apply**

Nominations should be emailed to Helen Viksnins at HelenV@aaoptom.org.


2020 Sarah M. Wilting

2019  Rami Aboumourad
2018  Jacob A. Borroff
          Jenna L. Wayne
          Angeline Nguyen

2017  Laura Goldberg
          Celia R Gong

2016  Kelly E. Moore

2015  Rachel Knowlton

2014  Not Awarded

2013  Krystal L. Schulle

2012  Kenneth Headington  

2011  Not Awarded

2010  Not Awarded

2009  Not Awarded

2008  Bret Lehman

2007  Not Awarded

2006  Nina Tran
          Sara Chiu

2005  Douglas F. Lee

2004  Mark Kahrhoff

2003  Joy Martin

2002  Brady Rembleski
          Tania Gardiner

2001  Gregory Patek
          Rahul Keswani

2000  Joseph Rappon

1999  Rick Wong
          Brian Chou

1998  Marie-Pierre Paquin

1997  Mark P. Borsuk
          Cary Tseng

1996  George A. Zikos

1995  Blake Bullock

1994 Nicolas Fontaine

1993 Anhlinh Nguyen

1992 Randall L. Phillips

1991 Alex Kim

Sherry Pham

1990 Gregg E. Russell

1989 M. Anne Wilson

1987 Frank E. Miller

Bradley G. Smith

Ray J. Weekly

1986 Susan M. Brunnett  

Mitchell T. Munson

1985 Donald Ferro

Rene F. Strumwasser

1983 Randall A. Faunce

1982 David C. Moline

1981 Marcie E. Arnesty

Patsy L. Harvey

1978 Lary M. DeDonato

Thomas C. Sather

1977 Steven A. Wood

1976 David N. Schultz

1975 Bob G. Gilman

1974 Paul J. Wilson

1973 Donald Wright

1972 Kerry A. Horner

1971 David Fox

Peter M. Smith


Wilting_headshotSarah M. Wilting 
Paper: Quantifying the Optical and Physical Consequences of Daily Cleaning on Conventional and
Wavefront-guided Scleral Lenses