History and Purpose

In 2001, an educational grant sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision was given to recognize outstanding fourth year student clinicians who have demonstrated excellence in contact lens patient care during their optometric education.

Eligibility and Application

Nominations MUST be submitted online by the deadline date (shown below).

The submission window opens Feb 1, 2018 and closes April 2, 2018.

One $500 grant and a personalized plaque will be awarded to a student at each of the North-American schools and colleges of optometry.

  • Nominee must be a fourth-year student.
  • Nominee must be a student member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO). To learn more, visit the AAO website:www.aaopt.org/student
  • Nominee must represent outstanding clinical patient care as demonstrated by the student’s: (a) overall knowledge in the contact lens field, and (b) skillful, considerate and professional care of his/her contact lens patients.
  • W9 form (or W-8BEN if non-U.S. resident) for the recipient or institution must be faxed to the AAOF at 407-893-9890 or be already confirmed on file with our office. Checks may be made out directly to the student or to the institution for application to the student’s financial aid. Whether recipient or institution form is dependent on the prevailing policy of the school or college with regard to the graduation date of the recipient and the fact AAOF will need a minimum of 4 weeks for delivery of award materials.

Nomination Procedures

Each institution will be contacted directly via email as to the opening of the submission window, and no more than two months prior to deadline.

The appropriate grant selection committee at each of the schools/colleges of optometry will select the one student who best demonstrates the qualities outlined above. The AAOF will not accept applications directly from students.

Notification and Conferment

Each school or college will contact its grant winner to obtain any needed material(s) and or information for the selection process.

The AAOF will send the grant to the school or college or directly to the student as indicated in the submission.

Awards are generally mailed at minimum four weeks after deadline.

Grant Note

All grant recipients by application/nomination and acceptance of a grant agree to allow the AAOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These will appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AAOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, social media, annual meeting promotional materials or press release.

For additional information contact Jennifer Rubin, Foundation Program Manager, at: 321-319-4870 or AAOF@aaoptom.org.



ORLANDO, FL (June 1, 2018) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is pleased to announce the 2018 Johnson & Johnson Vision Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care Grant recipients. This grant recognizes outstanding fourth-year student clinicians who have demonstrated excellent overall knowledge of the contact lens field plus skillful, considerate and professional care of contact lens patients during their optometric education.  Each winner receives a $500 educational grant and a personalized plaque commemorating their accomplishment.

2018 Recipients and Institutions attended:

Pei Chi Chain

Illinois College of Optometry

Sara Siebert

Indiana University at Bloomington School of Optometry

Jordan Keeney

Inter-American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

Brittany Strebig

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
School of Optometry

Madeleine Hacker

Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University

Jordyn Stevens

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Karlee Muller

New England College of Optometry

Judson Chevalier

Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

Melissa Zaleski

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

Kimberly Weisenberger

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Kellie Abe

Pacific University College of Optometry

Samantha Myers     

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

Vivian Chung

Southern California College of Optometry at
Marshall B. Ketchum University

Victoria Stewart

Southern College of Optometry

Ayah Ahamed

State University of New York College of Optometry

Molly Tipton

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Kristi Lew

University of California Berkeley School of Optometry

Jonathan Chen 

University of Houston College of Optometry

Ramya Natarajan 

University of Missouri St. Louis College of Optometry

Camille Fodi

University of Montreal School of Optometry

Lavang Lee

University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

Brij Patel

University of Waterloo School of Optometry and Vision Science

Nguyet-Nhi Phan

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation is thankful for the professional relationship between the foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their outstanding support to raise the bar of optometric education to a new level is a remarkable reminder of their ongoing commitment to industry high standards.

.2018 AOE Recipeint Chung MBKU
2018 Award of Excellence recipient Vivian Chung with Johnson & Johnson representative Amy Spillane and Dr. Mark Bullimore