2018 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

Published September 6, 2018

2018 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

ORLANDO, FL – September 6, 2018 - The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2018 Student Travel Fellowship Awards. These travel fellowships will allow students to attend Academy 2018 San Antonio, November 7-10, 2018. Resident Travel Fellowship recipients will be announced at a later time.

Frank W. Weymouth Student Travel Fellowship

Deborah Antwi, Indiana University
Jakaria Mostafa, University of Houston

Irvin M. Borish Student Travel Fellowship

Ananya Datta, OD, University of Houston
Cameron Postnikoff, University of Alabama Birmingham

Brazelton Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship

Amber Weimer, Pacific University

Edward I. Goodlaw Student Travel Fellowship

Ashley Nguyen, University of Houston

Robert D. Newcomb Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership

Neil Doppler, University of Alabama Birmingham

Michael G. Harris Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership

Annabelle Storch, Marshall B. Ketchum University

American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowships

Khob Bhandari, BOptom, University of Houston
Ashutosh Jnawali, University of Houston
Parthasarathi Kalaiselvan, University of New South Wales
Sydney Si Ying Lin, State University of New York
Raman Sah, BOptom, Indiana University

Funded by an educational grant from Johnson and Johnson Vision

Michelle Antonucci, University of California Berkeley
Memoona Arshad, University of New South Wales
Marielle Blumenthaler, The Ohio State University
Paul Brown, University of Alabama Birmingham
Kelly Cochran, University of Missouri St. Louis
Nevin El-Nimri, OD, MS, FAAO, University of California Berkeley
Lacey Haines, OD, FIACLE, University of Waterloo
Kam Ho, University of New South Wales
Deepayan Kar, BOptom, MS, University of Alabama Birmingham
Safal Khanal, OD, FAAO, University of Auckland
Corrin Lesjak, Indiana University
Lydia Pickrell, The Ohio State University
Maureen Plaumann, OD, FAAO, The Ohio State University
Sudan Puri, OD, University of Houston
Noor Haziq Saliman, BOptom, MHSc, University of Manchester
Sidra Sarwat, University of New South Wales
Keyur Savla, BOptom, University of Alabama Birmingham
Alaina Short, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Sloane Weed, The Ohio State University
Angela Zhang, University of Waterloo


Recipients will be honored at the Student and Resident Awards Lunch on Thursday, November 8 from Noon to 1:00 PM in Stars at Night Ballroom B4 in the Henry B. González Convention Center.

About the American Academy of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) enhances excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journal, Optometry and Vision Science, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession’s knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit http://www.aaopt.org.

The next annual meeting of the Academy will be November 7-10, 2018 in San Antonio, Texas. For more information visit http://www.aaopt.org/regsite.