2019 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

Published August 29, 2019

2019 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

ORLANDO, FL (August 29, 2019) – The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2019 Student Travel Fellowship Awards. These travel fellowships will allow students to attend Academy 2019 Orlando and 3rd World Congress of Optometry, October 23-27, 2019. Resident Travel Fellowship recipients will be announced at a later time.

The 2019 Student Travel Fellowship recipients are:

Frank W. Weymouth Student Travel Fellowship
Rebecca Deffler, OD, MS, The Ohio State University
Augustine Nti, OD, University of Houston

Irvin M. Borish Student Travel Fellowship
Nahida Akter, University of New South Wales
Abdulla Alamri, State University of New York

Brazelton Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship
Wai Fung, University of California Berkeley

Edward I. Goodlaw Student Travel Fellowship
Joanna Toner, University of California Berkeley

Robert D. Newcomb Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership
Alison Jensen, University of California Berkeley

Michael G. Harris Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership
Bibin Cherian, Northeastern State University of Oklahoma

American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowships
Deborah Awisi-Gyua, Indiana University
Lacey Haines, University of Waterloo
Neeraj Singh, Indiana University
Sandra Wagner, Eberhard Karls University
Tiong Peng Yap, OD, University of New South Wales

Funded by an educational grant from Johnson and Johnson Visio
Nicole Adam, New England College of Optometry
Michelle Antonucci, University of California Berkeley
Akosua Asare, OD, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Khob Bhandari, University of Houston
Jaime Etterling, The Ohio State University
Raymond Farmer, State University of New York
Hannah Gregory, University of Houston
Brian Helmetag, Midwestern University Chicago College of Optometry
Chuan Hu, OD, University of Houston
Parthasarathi Kalaiselvan, University of New South Wales
WeiHau Law, University of Houston
Taylor Norris, The Ohio State University
Sudan Puri, University of Houston
Casey Ramirez Cortes, The Ohio State University
Noor Haziq Saliman, The University of Manchester
Divya Senthilkumar, SRM Institute of Science and Technology
Jennyffer Smith, OD, University of Houston
Emma Stewart-Bates, The Ohio State University
Kelsey Trast, University of Houston
Kent Uehara, State University of New York
Yen-Chiao Wang, MD, Indiana University

Recipients will be honored at the Student and Resident Awards Lunch on Thursday, October 24 from Noon to 1:00 PM in Valencia W415 CD in the Orange County Convention Center.

About the American Academy of Optometry
The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) enhances excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journal, Optometry and Vision Science, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession’s knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit http://www.aaopt.org.