American Academy of Optometry Foundation Announces the 2018 Johnson & Johnson Vision J. Pat Cummings Scholarship Recipients

Published October 26, 2018

ORLANDO, FL (October 26, 2018) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision is pleased to announce the 2018 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second or third year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities. 

The 2018 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship Recipients are:

Lhamo Kyi

Illinois College of Optometry

Meret Thomas-Huebner

Indiana University School of Optometry

Estefany Colon Lopez

Inter American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

Preet Dhami

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry

Mary Stoll

Michigan College of Optometry

Garret Bringhurst

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Marlene Catarino

New England College of Optometry

Brock Helfrich

Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

Linda Yan

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

Deidrie Colter

Pacific University College of Optometry

Marta Maria Roman

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

Patrick Clark

Rosenberg School of Optometry

Bonnie Samuelson

Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

Jacob Weber

Southern College of Optometry

Samuel L. Stack

State University of New York College of Optometry

Bridget Alene Lorenz

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Kate Daluyin

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Loukia Hadjiyianni

University of California Berkeley School of Optometry

Ashley Nguyen

University of Houston College of Optometry

Maggie Pohlmeier

University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry

Alexandra Gignac

University of Montreal School of Optometry

Amber Dawson
University of Pikeville

Kaitlyn Sinclair

University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science

Herrick Duong

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry


The AAOF is thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their exceptional support for this program continues to uphold the high caliber of optometric resident education.