American Academy of Optometry Foundation is pleased to announce the 2020 Johnson & Johnson Vision J. Pat Cummings Scholarship Recipients

Published October 20, 2020

ORLANDO, FL (October 20, 2020) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation, in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision, is pleased to announce the 2020 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second or third year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities.

The 2020 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients are:

Brian Helmetag

Chicago College of Optometry at Midwestern University

Alexander Wong

Illinois College of Optometry

Emily Ertel

Indiana University School of Optometry

Binu Koruthu

Inter American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

Vincent Thoren

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry

James Carpenter

Michigan College of Optometry

Eric Van Meter

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Iva Hoxha

New England College of Optometry

Heather Polson

Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

Brianna Marie Herring

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

Kathleen Thomas

Pacific University College of Optometry

Dustin Weidert

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

Rebecca Phung

Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

Sonali Das

Southern College of Optometry

Julie Song

State University of New York College of Optometry

Abby Almomar

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Sanjana Sravani Vitta

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Madison Sachs

University of California Berkeley School of Optometry

Hovhannes Hovhannisyan

University of Houston College of Optometry

Sarah D'Amore

University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

Samuel Killion

University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry

Marilou Paquet

University of Montreal School of Optometry

Cassie Napier

University of Pikeville Kentucky School of Optometry

Cedrick Mah

University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science

Crystal Sin

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry


We are thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their support for this program continues to uphold the high caliber of optometric resident education.