American Academy of Optometry Foundation is pleased to announce the 2020 Vincent Salierno Scholarship Recipients

Published October 20, 2020

ORLANDO, FL (October 21, 2020) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation would like to announce the recipients of the 2020 Vincent Salierno Scholarships.

2020 Vincent Salierno Scholarship recipients are:

Kenneth Dang - New England College of Optometry
Der Vang - Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry
Richard Martin - Pacific University School of Optometry
Ryan Sandberg - Southern California College of Optometry at MBKU
Sarah Supak - University of Houston College of Optometry

Vincent Salierno was on the Board of Directors of the Columbus Hospital in New Jersey. His family valued and continued his philanthropy. After his death in January 1973, his widow Rose established the Vincent Salierno Scholarship Fund with Foundation to provide scholarships to students in the field of optometry. Over the past 30 years more than one hundred scholarships have been awarded.

Students pursuing an optometry degree are nominated by his/her institution for this scholarship. Each recipient will receive $2,000 to apply to their tuition. The Vincent Salierno Scholarship is eligible for automatic renewal provided that the recipient maintains a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and is enrolled in a full-time course of study leading to an optometry degree. Continued eligibility shall be determined annually.