American Academy of Optometry Foundation is pleased to announce the 2021 Johnson & Johnson Vision J. Pat Cummings Scholarship Recipients

Published November 11, 2021

ORLANDO, FL (November 11, 2021) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation, in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision, is pleased to announce the 2021 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second- or third-year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities.

 The 2021 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients are:


Michael Q. Tran

Chicago College of Optometry at Midwestern University

Lydie Tubene

Illinois College of Optometry

Chad Herschberger

Indiana University School of Optometry

Michael Oyefesobi

Inter American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

Menatolla Soliman

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry

Jason Spaude

Michigan College of Optometry

Sydney M. Gross

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Sara Masood

New England College of Optometry

Heather Polson

Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

Amanda Hernandez

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

Kalli Marie Sachiko Hirasa

Pacific University College of Optometry

Palma-Rosita Colalancia

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

Irene Hwang

Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

Michelle Yan

Southern College of Optometry

Andrew C. Rouse

State University of New York College of Optometry

Curt Fritts-Davis

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Darian Travis

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Ashley Han

University of California Berkeley School of Optometry

Angelica Echiverri

University of Houston College of Optometry

Savannah Ferron

University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

Joshua Dudek

University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry

Marina Nguyen

University of Montreal School of Optometry

Morgan Elizabeth Peters

University of Pikeville Kentucky School of Optometry

Chantelle Procunier

University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science

Sheila Javadi

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry


We are thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their support for this program continues to uphold the high caliber of optometric education.

About the American Academy of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) inspires excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journal, Optometry and Vision Science, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession’s knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit the website:

About the American Academy of Optometry Foundation

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is the 501(c)(3) philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO) and was founded in 1947 for the “upholding, broadening, fostering, promoting and aiding of optometric education; the profession of optometry and its practitioners.” The organization provides financial support for optometric research and vision and eye health education to improve patient clinical care. For more information, visit the website: