International Keratoconus Academy Resident Travel Fellowship in memory of Janet Barr

Janet Barr
In memory of Janet Barr

History and Purpose

Joe and Janet Barr have been close friends and colleagues for many years. We all felt immense sadness from Janet’s untimely passing and our heart and prayers continue to go out to the Barr family.

To pay tribute, the leadership of our organization created a fund to honor them.

This year two resident travel fellowships of $750 each will be awarded to attend Academy 2021 Boston in November.

IKA, as an organization, is contributing $1,500 to kick-off the campaign. We need your support by donating a gift to allow us to continue awarding these grants in the future. 

With your help we can make this happen!

Eligibility and Application

The submission window is August 2, 2021 through September 10, 2021.

The IKA Resident Travel Fellowship is available to optometry residents who are currently enrolled in an residency program, in good academic standing, and who have a paper accepted to present either at Residents Day or through the scientific program.

Fellowship Requirements

  • Must be a member of the American Academy of Optometry
  • Must submit a CV
  • Must submit NBEO Score
  • One-page essay (500 word max) on:
    • 1- What factors contribute to the diagnosis of keratoconus?
    • 2- What are the elements of a comprehensive treatment plan?

To become a student/resident member please visit: Student Membership

Materials MUST be submitted online by the deadline date (shown above) using the online submission tool. Applications that remain incomplete after the deadline date will not be evaluated. 

Fellowship Notes

Although residents can apply to attend a meeting for which they have previously been awarded a travel fellowship, priority may be given to first-time awardees.

It is the standard policy of the AAOF that program recipients who receive as part of their award, a travel stipend to attend an event, cannot receive a second or duplicate travel stipend from the Foundation or its affiliate, the AAO.

Recipients are required to attend the AAOF Celebration Luncheon where they will receive their check.

All award recipients by application and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AAOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These may appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AAOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, annual meeting promotional materials.

For further information contact:

Jennifer Rubin
Awards and Student Membership Engagement Manager
622 E. Washington St. #300
Orlando, FL 32801
Phone: 321-319-4872


Not awarded due to COVID-19

2019 :

Sophia Leung, OD
University of Waterloo School of Optometry and Vision Science

Yue Yu,OD, PhD
New England College of Optometry