Terrance N. Ingraham Pediatric Optometry Residency Award

History and Purpose

Residency training is becoming an increasingly important aspect of optometric training. A post-OD residency program significantly advances a graduate's preparation as an eye-care provider and provides additional experiences in instruction and scholarship. Many schools and colleges of optometry now require advanced practice residency training as a basic prerequisite for new clinical faculty.

The Terrance N. Ingraham Pediatric Optometry Residency program, funded by Johnson & Johnson Vision,  is intended to promote the practice and development of the field of Pediatric Optometry by providing incentive and support to sustain talented optometric residents who demonstrate a passion and commitment to practice, research, and education in the field of children's vision. A goal of this program is to invest in the evolution of the field of pediatric optometry, particularly but not limited to the application of soft contact lenses for children's vision disorders, by providing opportunities for future practitioners, educators, and researchers.

The recipient will receive $2,000 plus one $750 travel fellowship to attend the annual meeting of the American Academy of Optometry; where the recipient will spend volunteer time at the AAOF exhibit booth and be recognized at the annual AAOF Celebration Luncheon. 

Eligibility and Application

The submission window opens May 23, 2022 and closes July 15, 2022.

One award will be granted to an optometrist currently serving in a 2019 -20 academic year calendar advanced practice pediatric/vision therapy residency program through a North-American school or college of optometry may apply. Anyone who has yet to begin a residency for the 2019-20 academic year calendar is ineligible.

Applications must be submitted via our online submission system and must include the following:

  1. The applicant must be a member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO); whether as a student, candidate, or Fellow at the time of acceptance of any award.  To learn more, visit the AAO website: Student Membership for student membership information and Candidate for Fellowship for how to become a Fellow.
  2. A brief description of the residency program. 
  3. CV with applicant's education, clinical, research, teaching experience, honors, in the form of a PDF.
  4. A one-page statement of career goals and list the date/status of when AAO membership was obtained.
  5. Three letters of recommendation from persons qualified to comment on educational qualifications, research abilities, and potential.  One of which must be the Residency Director or Program Coordinator of the institution. The recommender will receive an email once the applicant has submitted their application with directions on how to upload their letter.  

Review Procedures

Proposals will be reviewed by a peer review committee established by the American Academy of Optometry Foundation with the assistance of the American Academy of Optometry Binocular Vision, Perception, and Pediatric Optometry Section chairs. The applicants will be evaluated primarily on the basis of their educational background and their ability and potential as teachers, researchers, and practitioners in the field of pediatric optometry. A preference will be given to applicants with an interest in the utilization of soft contact lenses in pediatric populations.

Award Notes

It is the standard policy of the AAOF that an award recipient who receives a travel stipend to attend an event, cannot also receive a second travel stipend from the Foundation or its affiliate, the AAO.

Prior to award submission window opeing, the guidelines for any given award are subject to change by the AAOF and/or the award sponsor. Applicants are reminded to please review all information before submitting their application to ensure it meets all criteria.

All award recipients by application and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AAOF and/or the sponsor of the award to which they applied to publish their  name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These will appear in a variety of  media formats that will announce and promote the award including, but not limited to, the AAOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, annual meeting promotional materials.

For further information contact:

Jennifer Rubin
Grants and Awards Manager
2909 Fairgreen Street
Orlando, FL 32803, USA
Phone: 321-319-4872



2020 & 2021 
Not Awarded

Paula Kutzner, OD, MEd
Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

Emily Wiecek, OD, PhD, FAAO
New England College of Optometry

Amanda E. Beaudry, OD, MS
Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

Kristen L. Kerber, OD, MS
New England College of Optometry

Ann Morrison, OD, MS
The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Jameel Kanji, OD, MS
New England College of Optometry

Photo Credit: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health (NEI/NIH)

Paula Kutzner

Paula Kutzner, OD, MEd