History and Purpose

In 2018 the present Boards of the Academy and the Foundation and the past presidents of the Academy personally endowed a student travel fellowship in honor of the many contributions of Lois Schoenbrun, CAE, FAAO, who announced she will leave the Academy in early 2019. Ms. Schoenbrun has served as the Academy and Academy Foundation’s Executive Director since June of 1996. She earned the Certified Association Executive designation in 1995 and earned her Academy Fellowship in 2000.

Eligibility and Application

The submission window opens July 1, 2019 and closes July 31, 2019.

This STF is open to 3rd and 4th year students and residents with plans to pursue a career in private practice. Awardee must be a member of the Academy. Application requirements include one letter of recommendation from a faculty member, and a one-page statement (about 500 words) stating why the student will pursue private practice, as well as any experience acquired that will enable them to contribute to a future leadership role in the profession. Awardee is required to attend the Leadership Fundamentals I course at the Academy annual meeting in the year the award is received. Registration fee for that course is included in the travel fellowship.

Fellowship Requirements

  • Must be a member of the American Academy of Optometry
  • One letter of recommendation
  • One-page statement (500 words)

Materials MUST be submitted online by the deadline date (shown above) using the online submission tool. Applications that remain incomplete after the deadline date will not be evaluated. 

Fellowship Notes

Although students can apply to attend a meeting for which they have previously been awarded a travel fellowship, priority may be given to first-time awardees.

It is the standard policy of the AAOF that program recipients who receive as part of their award, a travel stipend to attend an event, cannot receive a second or duplicate travel stipend from the Foundation or its affiliate, the AAO.

Recipients are required to attend the AAOF Celebration Luncheon on Saturday, November 10, 2018 from 11 AM to 1:30 PM where they will receive their check.

All award recipients by application and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AAOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These may appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AAOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, annual meeting promotional materials.

For further information contact:

Jennifer Rubin
Grants and Awards Manager
2909 Fairgreen Street
Orlando, FL 32803, USA
Phone: 321-319-4872

Past Recipients

2018 - Erin Lutley
            State University of New York

Lois Schoenbrun, CAE, FAAO