History and Purpose

In 2001, an educational grant sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision was given to recognize outstanding fourth year student clinicians who have demonstrated excellence in contact lens patient care during their optometric education.

Eligibility and Application

Nomination MUST be submitted online by the deadline date (shown below) using the Academy website online submission tool.

The submission window opens Feb 1, 2018 and closes April 1, 2018.

One $500 award and a personalized plaque at each of the North-American schools and colleges of optometry.

  • Nominee must be a fourth-year student.
  • Nominee must be a student member of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO). To learn more, visit the AAO website:www.aaopt.org/student
  • Nominee must represent outstanding clinical patient care as demonstrated by the student’s: (a) overall knowledge in the contact lens field, and (b) skillful, considerate and professional care of his/her contact lens patients.
  • W9 form (or W-8BEN if non-U.S. resident) for the recipient or institution must be faxed to the AAOF at 407-893-9890 or be already confirmed on file with our office. Checks may be made out directly to the student or to the institution for application to the student’s financial aid. Whether recipient or institution form is dependent on the prevailing policy of the school or college with regard to the graduation date of the recipient and the fact AAOF will need a minimum of 4 weeks for delivery of award materials.

Nomination Procedures

Each institution will be contacted directly via email as to the opening of the submission window, and no more than two months prior to deadline.

The appropriate award selection committee at each of the schools/colleges of optometry will select the one student who best demonstrates the qualities outlined above. The AAOF will not accept applications directly from students.

Notification and Conferment

Each school or college will contact its award winner to obtain any needed material(s) and or information for the selection process.

The AAOF will send the award to the school or college or directly to the student as indicated in the submission.

Awards are generally mailed at minimum four weeks after deadline.

Award Note

All award recipients by application/nomination and acceptance of an award agree to allow the AAOF and/or the sponsor of the program to which they applied to publish their name, image, institution information, and any statement or quote provided by the recipient. These will appear in a variety of media formats that will announce and promote the program including, but not limited to, the AAOF and/or sponsor annual report, website, social media, annual meeting promotional materials or press release.

For additional information contact Jennifer Rubin, Foundation Program Manager, at: 321-319-4870 or AAOF@aaoptom.org.



ORLANDO, FL (June 5, 2017) – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is pleased to announce the 2017 Johnson & Johnson Vision Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care recipients. This award recognizes outstanding fourth-year student clinicians who have demonstrated excellent overall knowledge of the contact lens field plus skillful, considerate and professional care of contact lens patients during their optometric education.  Each winner receives a $500 educational award and a personalized plaque commemorating their accomplishment.

2017 Recipients and Institutions attended:

Jamie Blavat

Illinois College of Optometry

Hailey Shaffer Williams

Indiana University at Bloomington School of Optometry

Jessica Tu

Inter-American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry

Michael Belhumeur

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
School of Optometry

Austin Schipper

Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University

Elizabeth Ledezma

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Avani Dave

New England College of Optometry

Jessica White

Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

Laura Jankiprasad

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

Ashley N. Dues

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Paige Stephens

Pacific University College of Optometry

Patrick O'Connor McManamon     

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

Justine Gonzalez

Southern California College of Optometry at
Marshall B. Ketchum University

Rebecca Goad

Southern College of Optometry

Azinda Morrow

State University of New York College of Optometry

Kate Oliver

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Andrew Vo

University of California Berkeley School of Optometry

Allison Quirin

University of Houston College of Optometry

Kelsey Haugen

University of Missouri St. Louis College of Optometry

Laurianne Trudeau

University of Montreal School of Optometry

Tam Nguyen

University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

Jonathan Ngoc Dinh

University of Waterloo School of Optometry and Vision Science

Lilia Babakhan

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation is thankful for the professional relationship between the foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their outstanding support to raise the bar of optometric education to a new level is a remarkable reminder of their ongoing commitment to industry high standards.

AOE 2017 - McManamon
2017 Award of Excellence recipient Patrick O’Connor McManamon with Dr. Melissa Trego