Eye-Mail® Monthly

Generously sponsored by:

Eye-Mail® Monthly is the electronic newsletter of the American Academy of Optometry. Each issue features an article of interest, Annual Meeting and Academy information, links to useful websites and more.

December Issue

2019 Call for Courses Opens January 2nd

The Lectures and Workshops Committee invites you to submit up to 3 course proposals for consideration for Academy 2019 Orlando and the 3rd World Congress of Optometry. The submission window will be open January 2 to 5:00 PM ET January 31, 2019. Applicants can submit up to three lectures for consideration for both the Academy meeting and for the 3rd World Congress (3 applications per meeting). Read more...

Forum on Laser Based Imaging

Registration is now open for the Forum on Laser Based Imaging, to be held on April 8, 2019 at the Tommy Douglas Conference Center in Silver Spring, MD. 
The Forum will focus on the latest trends and enhancements in laser-based imaging modalities such as Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and Adaptive Optics (AO), regulatory and reimbursement considerations, and new topics of interest such as the Medical Device Development Tool Program and the emerging role of Artificial Intelligence. Read more...

Recap of Academy 2018 San Antonio

Thank you to all who attended Academy 2018 San Antonio! 

The meeting shattered all previous meeting records with 7,948 total registrants. This included 4,625 optometrists and vision scientists and 1,168 students. A total of 303 new Fellows and 17 new Diplomates were inducted into the Academy. Read the full post-meeting press release here.

A reminder that your official CE certificate is available online. If you wish to download PDF handouts to your PC, please click here.

Academy Online Announcements

2017 Scientific Posters Now Available Online
Posters from Academy 2017 Chicago can now be viewed on Academy Online, the Academy's online learning platform. These 26 posters on a variety of topic areas will be available for a limited time. View now...

Academy members enjoy complimentary access to Academy Online content. Separate testing fees apply for COPE CE credit.

Featured Poster of the Month

Characteristics of Highly Cited Articles by Optometry School Faculty and Researchers, 2000-2016: A Bibliometric Analysis

View this month's featured poster from Academy 2017 Chicago by Pamela Sieving, MA, MS, AHIP and Bette Anton, MLS. View now...

Thank You to our Sponsors

The Academy and the American Academy of Optometry Foundation are thankful for the generous support of our corporate sponsors and exhibitors in 2018.

Happy Holidays from the Academy and Academy Foundation

The Academy office will be closed from December 25, 2018 through January 1, 2019. Happy holidays to you and yours and best wishes for a wonderful new year!

American Academy of Optometry Foundation News

It's Not Too Late to Make Your 2018 Contribution to the AAOF
Thank you to those who have donated to the AAOF in 2018!  Your generous contributions support optometric research and education in vision and eye health to improve clinical patient care.

If you have not made your 2018 donation, there is still time to do so. You can make an online gift or contact Jennifer Rubin, Foundation Program Manager

Thank you in advance for your support of the Academy's Foundation!

William C. Ezell Fellowship

The submission window for the William C. Ezell Fellowship is now open! Fellowship awards are $8,000 each. The student also receives a $750 travel grant to the annual meetings of the Academy and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. Learn more...

Student Giving Matching Travel Grants
Students are challenged to raise, either through gifts by fellow students or by fundraising initiatives, $750. The AAOF will then match that amount so the Academy student chapter can award two travel fellowships to the next Academy meeting. Learn more...

Fellows in the News

Congratulations to Glen T. Steele, OD, FCOVD, FAAO on being named the 2018 recipient of the Vision Care Section of the American Public Health Association Distinguished Service Award! Read more...

Optometry and Vision Science Journal Highlight

The feature article in the December 2018 article of OVS is titled "Measuring Daily Disposable Contact Lenses against Nonwearer Benchmarks" by Percy Lazon de la Jara et al. 

Access your subscription to OVS online.