The Low Vision Section was established to foster excellence in patient care and professional development in the American Academy of Optometry in the area of low vision rehabilitation through fellowship and leadership in education and research.

The Low Vision Section of the American Academy of Optometry serves as a primary source for papers, courses, information and research regarding diagnosis of and management in Low Vision care and to advise the Board of Directors on policy in this area. The Section serves to encourage inquiry and research in low vision care by providing a forum of practitioners and scientists who are knowledgeable and can present, question and defend new advances in the field.

The Section sets a high standard of clinical, education and research competency and knowledge for optometrists concentrating in the area of low vision via the Diplomate Program. The Clinical and Research Low Vision Diplomates further the clinical, educational, and research activities and goals of the Section.

The section serves to promote, advance, and enhance the identity of optometry by informing the public that these services are part of optometric practice.

Section Bylaws: Download in PDF Format

Section Officers

Image of Dawn K DeCarlo, OD, MS, FAAO

Section Chair

Dawn K DeCarlo, OD, MS, FAAO

ddecarlo@uab.edu
Image of Lisa Chan-O'Connell, OD, FAAO

President Elect

Lisa Chan-O'Connell, OD, FAAO

loconnell4@optimum.net
Image of Ava K Bittner, OD, PhD, FAAO

Program Chair

Ava K Bittner, OD, PhD, FAAO

abittner@nova.edu

Section Vice Chair

Mark D Kirstein, OD, FAAO

MarkDKirstein@gmail.com
Image of Tracy Matchinski, OD, FAAO

Diplomate Chair

Tracy Matchinski, OD, FAAO

tmatchin@ico.edu

Diplomate Renewals

Swati C Modi, OD, FAAO

scmodi@central.uh.edu
Image of John Rundquist, OD, FAAO

Diplomate Written Exam Chair

John Rundquist, OD, FAAO

jrundquist@wnycvi.com
Image of Stephanie Schmiedecke Barbieri, OD, FAAO

Mentor Chair

Stephanie Schmiedecke Barbieri, OD, FAAO

steph.od@gmail.com
Image of David S Loshin, OD, PhD, FAAO

Research Diplomate Chair

David S Loshin, OD, PhD, FAAO

dsloshin@me.com

Diplomate Oral Exam

Steve D Gill, OD, FAAO

sdg127@me.com

Ocular Disease Exam

Karen Squier, OD, MS, FAAO

ksquier@sco.edu
Image of David C Lewerenz, OD, FAAO

Immediate Past Chair

David C Lewerenz, OD, FAAO

david.lewerenz@ucdenver.edu
Image of Christopher R Choat, OD, FAAO

Diplomate Case Reports

Christopher R Choat, OD, FAAO

chrisrchoatod@aol.com