The primary mission of the Glaucoma Section is to promote excellence in the care of patients with glaucoma by developing evidence-based educational activities, fostering original research endeavors, and promoting inter-disciplinary collaboration. Through the fusion of clinicians, educators, and researchers who share a common passion in the area of glaucoma, the Section will provide the leadership and mentorship that is necessary to enhance and optimize clinical management of glaucoma throughout the optometric profession.

Section Officers


Jennifer Brown, OD, FAAO

Vice Chair

Denise Pensyl, OD, MS, FAAO
Image of Michael Sullivan-Mee, OD, FAAO

Diplomate Chair

Michael Sullivan-Mee, OD, FAAO
Image of Andrew John Rixon, OD, FAAO

Program Chair

Andrew John Rixon, OD, FAAO
Image of Joseph W Sowka, OD, FAAO

Diplomate Written Exam Chair

Joseph W Sowka, OD, FAAO
Image of Lauren Ristin, OD, FAAO

Immediate Past Chair

Lauren Ristin, OD, FAAO
Image of Carl H Spear, OD, MBA, FAAO

Board Liaison

Carl H Spear, OD, MBA, FAAO