Mission

The Mission of the Binocular Vision, Perception, and Pediatric Optometry Section is to foster and conduct clinical, educational, and research activities in binocular vision, visual information processing and pediatric optometry.

Goals

  • Develop, recommend, and present continuing education courses, workshops, and demonstrations to enhance patient care skills of optometrists interested in binocular vision, visual information processing and pediatric optometry.
  • Develop and present Section symposiums that present recent advances in visual science research and clinical care information in binocular vision, visual information processing and pediatric optometry.
  • Set the highest standard of clinical competency and knowledge for optometrists interested in binocular vision, visual information processing and, pediatric optometry via the Clinical Diplomate Program.
  • Develop a large body of Clinical and Research Diplomates to further the clinical, educational, and research activities and goals of the Section.
  • Serve as a source of public information and public awareness on new clinical developments and research in the area of binocular vision, visual information processing and pediatric optometry.

Section Bylaws: Download in PDF Format

Section History: Download in PDF format

Position Papers: 
BVPPO Position Paper - The Struggling Student
BVPPO Position Paper - Childhood Vision Screening

Section Officers

Image of John D Tassinari, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

Section Chair

John D Tassinari, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

jtassinari@westernu.edu

Section Vice Chair

Marie I Bodack, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

mbodack@sco.edu
Image of Christine L Allison, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

Diplomate Chair

Christine L Allison, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

callison@ico.edu
Image of Tawna L Roberts, OD, PhD, FAAO

Program Chair

Tawna L Roberts, OD, PhD, FAAO

troberts@akronchildrens.org
Image of Helen M Viksnins, MEd, CAE,  FAAO

Staff liaison

Helen M Viksnins, MEd, CAE, FAAO

Helenv@aaoptom.org
Image of Carmen N Barnhardt, OD, MS, FCOVD, FAAO

Immediate Past Chair

Carmen N Barnhardt, OD, MS, FCOVD, FAAO

cbarnhardt@ketchum.edu
Image of Angela M Chen, OD, MS, FAAO

Diplomate Case Reports

Angela M Chen, OD, MS, FAAO

angelachen@ketchum.edu

Diplomate Vice Chair

Catherine A Chiarelli, OD, FAAO

catherinechiarelli@rogers.com
Image of Catherine L Heyman, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

Diplomate Written Exam

Catherine L Heyman, OD, FCOVD, FAAO

cheyman@ketchum.edu
Image of Ronald Gall, OD, MSc, FAAO

Member Relations

Ronald Gall, OD, MSc, FAAO

ron@oakvillecentreforvision.com
Image of Mitchell M Scheiman, OD, PhD, FAAO

Diplomate Oral Exam

Mitchell M Scheiman, OD, PhD, FAAO

mscheiman@salus.edu
Image of Mark Rosenfield, OD, PhD, FAAO

Research Chair

Mark Rosenfield, OD, PhD, FAAO

Rosenfield@sunyopt.edu