The mission of this community-based clinical research SIG is to advance the ocular health of the public through community based research. This will be accomplished by training Academy Fellows in the concepts and techniques necessary for multi-center clinical research. Early emphasis will be on projects to address essential questions such as:  population norms, prevalence data, repeatability and correlation of common clinical tests with symptoms and/or general disease status. Training Academy Fellows from a broad range of practice settings, rather than specialists or tertiary care providers, will allow access to patients from a broad range of ethnicity, socio-economic and health status.

The Fellows who participate will benefit through training in clinical research and in being a part of a group that adds significant data to the ophthalmic clinical literature.  This will help to solidify our professions as the primary eye care providers and in the end this will benefit our patients.

SIG Officers

Image of Barbara Caffery, OD, PhD, FAAO

Section Chair

Barbara Caffery, OD, PhD, FAAO

dr.b.caffery@gmail.com
Image of Kevin M Jackson, OD, MPH, FAAO

Section Chair

Kevin M Jackson, OD, MPH, FAAO

kjackson@usuhs.edu

Section Chair

Danielle Leong, OD, PhD, FAAO

leong.danielle@gmail.com
Image of Leonard V Messner, OD, FAAO

Section Chair

Leonard V Messner, OD, FAAO

lmessner@ico.edu
Image of Ronald K Watanabe, OD, FAAO

Section Chair

Ronald K Watanabe, OD, FAAO

watanaber@neco.edu
Image of Wendy W Harrison, OD, PhD, FAAO

Chair

Wendy W Harrison, OD, PhD, FAAO

wwharris@central.uh.edu

Vice Chair

Justin T Kwan, OD, FAAO

justin.t.kwan@gmail.com
Image of Crystal Dawn Remington, OD, FAAO

Newsletter

Crystal Dawn Remington, OD, FAAO

crystal_meyer@neco.edu
Image of Robin L Chalmers, OD, FAAO

Immediate Past Chair

Robin L Chalmers, OD, FAAO

chalmers2097@gmail.com